Raiders duo named in Scotland World Cup squad

Barrow Raiders forward Charlie Emslie and winger Shane Toal have been named in Scotland’s 24-man squad ahead of the upcoming Rugby League World Cup. 

Emslie, 21, made his Bravehearts debut against Jamaica in October 2021, bagging two tries against the Reggae Warriors as he earned heritage number #203.

He has been a standout on the Raiders’ return to the Betfred Championship this season, winning Young Player of the Year at the club’s recent awards evening. 

“I’m immensely proud and honoured to have been selected to represent Scotland at the World Cup,” Emslie said. “I can’t wait to get into camp and meet all the boys and get to be alongside some amazing players.

BUY NOW: Early bird season tickets

“After making my debut last October against Jamaica, and knowing that the World Cup was coming later this year, that was the goal that I set myself at the start of this season. 

“It’s one of the best feelings in the world. My dad is really proud of me, and to try and make him proud would mean everything.”

Toal, meanwhile, has featured for Scotland on three occasions, having made his national team debut in 2015.

The 26-year-old made 25 appearances for the Raiders during the 2022 campaign, scoring 11 tries.

“I’m very excited to go to the World Cup with Scotland,” he said. “It was a bit unexpected to be honest, so much so I have had to rearrange a holiday I had planned!

SHOP NOW: 2023 Barrow Raiders kits

“It’s a quick turnaround with our season just finishing, but I can’t wait to get into camp and start training. 

“I’ve been involved with Scotland a couple of times before, and it is always an extreme honour for me to represent my dad’s side of the family.”

Scotland have been drawn in Group B alongside reigning champions Australia, Fiji and Italy. 

Nathan Graham’s side begin their World Cup campaign against Italy on Sunday 16 October at Newcastle’s Kingston Park.

24-man Scotland Squad: Charlie Emslie, Shane Toal (both Barrow Raiders); Keiran Buchanan (Batley Bulldogs); Logan Bayliss-Brow* (Brisbane Broncos); Bailey Hayward* (Caterbury Bulldogs); Davey Dixon, Dale Ferguson (both Dewsbury Rams); Lewis Clarke (Edinburgh Eagles); Ben Hellewell (Featherstone Rovers); Lachlan Walmsley (Halifax Panthers); Kane Linnett (Hull KR); Calum Gahan*, Alex Walker (both London Broncos); Kyle Schneider* (Mackay Cutters); Euan Aiken (New Zealand Warriors); Luke Bain* (Parramatta Eels); Ryan Brierley, Sam Luckley (both Salford Red Devils); Bayley Liu* (Sheffield Eagles); James Bell (St Helens); Matty Russell (Toulouse); Liam Hood (Wakefield); Guy Graham* (Whitehaven RLFC); Jack Teanby (York City Knights).

*Uncapped players

Join us in 2023! Early bird season tickets are now on sale!